Skip to content ↓


Chair: Mrs V Smith

Address: Monmouth Comprehensive School
Telephone: 01600 775177


Vice Chair: Mr A Smith

Address: Monmouth Comprehensive School
Telephone: 01600 775177

Clerk to the Governors: Ms K Houghton



Headteacher: Mr H Hutchison

Telephone: 01600 775177


The Governing Body of Monmouth Comprehensive School is composed of volunteers from our community, parents, those appointed by the Local Authority, and staff. They carry out their duties to ensure that MCS continues to deliver an exceptional standard of comprehensive education for all students in our community.  

The Governing Body has three key duties in order to help provide the best possible education for students at the school. First, it provides a strategic view, setting the framework within which the Headteacher and staff run the school. Second, it acts as a critical friend, providing support and challenge to the Headteacher and staff, seeking information and clarification when required. Third, it ensures accountability, explaining the decisions and actions of the Governing Body to anyone who has a legitimate interest.

Governors support the school in promoting high standards of educational achievement, attendance and behaviour. The Governing Body provides targets by which student achievement can be measured. Governance also encompasses curriculum requirements, determining and monitoring the school’s budget, staffing issues and ownership of the School Development Plan. As such, the role of the Governing Body is distinct from that of the Local Authority as the employer, and from that of the Headteacher and other senior leaders of the school.

The Governing Body email is:

The Governing Body comprises:

Category Name Appointed by

Parent Governor

Mrs Paula Doody
Ms Ceri Jones
Mrs Jessica McHugh
Mrs Satinder Smith
Dr Kate Williams


 Teacher Governor

Mrs Janet Chaplin
Mrs Dorrie Gaylard

Teaching Staff


Support Staff Governor

Mrs Sarah Bradley

Support Staff

LA Governor

Mrs Nicola Allan
Mrs Olwen Davies
Mrs Tori James-Darlington
Mr Julian Morgan
Ms Hannah Woodhouse

Local Authority

Community Governor

Rev. Dr. Catherine Haynes
Mr Jamie Powell
Mr Antony Smith
Mrs Victoria Smith (Chair)

Governing Body

Ex officio Mr Hugo Hutchison Headteacher